St. John’s Honors Faculty, Staff, and Administration at Annual Employee Convocation

May 31, 2023

St. John’s University recognized the contributions of its longtime employees on Wednesday, May 24, at its annual Employee Recognition Convocation at Carnesecca Arena.

Twenty-three members of St. John’s faculty and another 13 staff and administrative personnel were celebrated for their years of service to the University. Awards were given to those with 25, 40—and in the case of Catherine J. Ruggieri, J.D. ’73NDC, ’79MBA, Dean Emeritus and Professor, Division of Administration and Economics, The Lesley H. and William L. Collins College of Professional Studies—50 years of employment. 

The University also recognized three recipients each with medals for Outstanding Staff Achievement, Outstanding Administrative Achievement, and Outstanding Faculty Achievement. Another three employees were named Values and Inclusion Program Award winners. A lunch followed at Taffner Field House

The event was held three days after the University’s annual undergraduate Commencement, a fact that was not lost on University President Rev. Brian J. Shanley, O.P., in his welcoming remarks.

“Today, we take a moment to thank those people who have achieved significant milestones in their commitment to St. John’s and those who have gone above and beyond in their service to our students,” Fr. Shanley said. “Today is a day to be grateful to all our employees. It’s a day to celebrate and rejoice. It’s kind of a graduation for us.” 

Keaton Wong, J.D., Associate Vice President for Human Resources, presented Outstanding Staff Achievement medals to Judy Chin, Senior Secretary, Speech and Hearing Center; Amber Lynne Clarke ’15CPS, Access Services Specialist, Rittenberg Law Library; and Lisa J. Goldrick, Training and Development Assistant, Office of Human Resources. Ms. Wong later presented Outstanding Administrative Achievement medals to Melissa Kubit Angelides, Associate Director of Student Services, School of Law; Jay Robinson, Associate Director, Office of Printing and Distribution; and Allen Yu ’10TCB, ’15MS, Assistant Director, Office of Student Financial Services.

Ms. Wong also presented Values and Inclusion Program Awards to Gina Cicco ’97NDC, ’00GEd, ’07Ed.D., Associate Dean and Associate Professor, Counselor Education, The School of Education; Jeffrey A. Munoz, Collection Services and Digital Initiatives Specialist, Rittenberg Law Library, School of Law; and Sharod L. Tomlinson ’22Ed.D., Associate Dean for Student, Success and Engagement, Division of Student Affairs. This program recognizes employees who demonstrate a commitment to inclusion,  emphasizing and promulgating the University’s core values: truth, love, respect, opportunity, excellence, and service. 

Nancy S. Kaplan ’90SVC, ’92MBA, ’94PD, ’00Ed.D., Vice Provost for Academic Engagement and Partnerships, presented Outstanding Faculty Achievement medals to Heather F. Ball, M.L.S., Assistant Professor and Librarian, University Libraries; Natalie P. Byfield, Ph.D., Professor, Department of Sociology and Anthropology, St. John’s College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, and Director, Institute for Critical Race and Ethnic Studies; and Philip S. Lukeman, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry, St. John’s College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.  

See the complete list of honorees and watch the video of the 2023 Employee Recognition Convocation.