Which vaccines satisfy the requirement that employees be fully vaccinated against COVID-19?
Two doses of the Pfizer BioNTech vaccine, two doses of the Moderna vaccine, or one dose of the Johnson & Johnson Janssen vaccine.
Employees are also required to get a booster before January 19, 2022 or as soon as they are eligible (in general, six months after an initial Pfizer or Moderna series or two months after an initial Johnson & Johnson vaccine).
How will I find time to get the vaccine?
Under New York law, you are entitled to up to 4 hours of paid time off for each injection, including boosters. Paid time off taken for this purpose is not charged against your sick or vacation time.
How do I provide proof of vaccination?
Employees can upload their vaccination records by following the instructions at www.stjohns.edu/vaccine. Please note: Employees will be directed to upload their proof of vaccination to Medicat, a Student Health Services and Wellness portal. Any information uploaded to Medicat will be kept confidential.
What is the deadline to get vaccinated?
The University mandated that all employees be fully vaccinated by September 30, 2021. Employees must get their booster shots before January 19, 2022, or as soon as they are eligible.
What constitutes fully vaccinated?
Full vaccination status requires receiving two doses of Moderna or Pfizer, or, one dose of Johnson & Johnson, plus a two-week period after the last vaccination.
How do I request an exemption to the vaccination requirement?
Employees may request exemptions to the vaccination requirement for medical or religious reasons. Contact the HR Benefits Department at (718) 990-2363 or [email protected].
What happens if I do not provide proof of vaccination?
For partially vaccinated employees:
Per New York City law, employees who have provided proof that they received only one dose of the Pfizer or Moderna vaccines must provide proof of their second dose within 45 days after the date of the first dose. Partially vaccinated employees who do not provide proof of their second dose may be placed on unpaid leave, subject to applicable collective bargaining agreements. Thereafter, continued failure to upload proof of complete vaccination may lead to disciplinary action, up to and including termination.
In addition, under New York City law, partially vaccinated employees are prohibited from using campus dining facilities, the fitness center, Taffner Field House, and other athletic facilities, except for “in and out” transactions (e.g., using the bathroom, getting takeout).
For unvaccinated employees:
Unvaccinated employees who have not been granted a medical or religious exemption to the vaccine requirement are not permitted on campus (except for "in and out" transactions). Employees who do not upload proof of at least one dose of a COVID-19 vaccine may be placed on unpaid leave, subject to applicable collective bargaining agreements. Thereafter, continued failure to upload proof of vaccination may lead to disciplinary action, up to and including termination.
Unvaccinated employees who have been granted a religious or medical exemption to the vaccine requirement are required to test for COVID-19 weekly and submit the test results to [email protected] every Friday. Unvaccinated employees with approved medical or religious exemptions may contact the HR Benefits department at (718) 990-2363 or [email protected] for information about free on-campus testing.
Unvaccinated employees must wear a mask on campus, both indoors and outdoors, and should practice social distancing. In addition, under New York City law, unvaccinated employees are prohibited from using campus dining facilities, the fitness center, Taffner Field House, and other athletic facilities, except for "in and out" transactions (e.g., using the bathroom, getting takeout).
What should I do if I test positive for COVID-19 or have symptoms of COVID-19?
If you have tested positive for COVID-19 or have any Symptoms of Coronavirus, please stay home, self-quarantine, complete the COVID-19 Notification Form and inform your supervisor. The HR contact tracing team will reach out to you with further instructions.
I have been exposed to COVID-19 or a member of my family has been exposed. What should I do?
Complete the COVID-19 Notification Form. You may come to campus, but are required to wear a mask at all times when around others. You should get tested five days after the exposure. If you live with a person who tested positive and are unable to isolate yourself from them (i.e., taking care of a small child) then you must remain in isolation with the individual you are taking care of.
If I am in self-quarantine, is that information kept confidential?
We will only disclose that information if there is a legitimate need to disclose it.