Steeple ontop of St. Thomas More Church

Office of University Mission

The Office of University Mission is dedicated to the example of St. Vincent de Paul, who based his ministry on helping those in need. Last year, our students logged nearly 97,000 service hours in 125 city agencies and at 11 sites on four continents. Gaining direct, shared experience through helping others, students are uniquely prepared for lives as ethical leaders, in what ever career they choose.

Being a force for good is what St. John’s is all about. Our graduates use their time and talents to make our world a better place. As a Catholic and Vincentian university, faith is an integral part of this effort. We encourage students to strengthen their faith, and value, respect, and support all religious traditions.

Multicultural Advisory Committee

The Multicultural Advisory Committee is an advisory group to the President of the University that addresses both the broad issues of multiculturalism in higher education and the specific multicultural needs of our St. John’s University community. One of its functions is to provide recommendations that will help the University better serve its increasingly diverse population.

Co-chaired by Dr. André McKenzie and Dr. Kathryn Hutchinson, the committee is comprised of thirty-five representative faculty, administrators and students from the Queens, Staten Island and Manhattan campuses. The committee held its first meeting in the spring of 2004 and continues to meet regularly since that time. Meetings of the committee are open to all members of the University community.

Kathryn T. HutchinsonVice President for Student AffairsStudent Affairs
Andre McKenzieVice PresidentDivision of Academic Support Services
David GachigoAssociate Dean for Student AffairsStudent Life-Staten Island
Rosa HancoAssistant DirectorStudent Life
Suzanne HendersonAssistant DeanGraduate Division, St. John's College
Thomas J. LawrenceVice PresidentPublic Safety
Kathleen MeehanAssociate Vice PresidentAthletics
Lucy PesceExecutive Director for MissionOffice of Vincentian Mission
Angela P. SeegelCampus MinisterUniversity Ministry
Joan C. VivianDirector of Employee Train. & Dev.Human Resources
Yael WepmanDirector of EEOHuman Resources
Ching Wen Rosa YenDirectorMulticultural Affairs
Sandra AbramsAssistant ProfessorDepartment of Curriculum & Instruction
Alina Camacho-GingerichProfessorCommittee for Latin American & Caribbean Studies, SJC
Linda T. ChinAssistant ProfessorCriminal Justice & Legal Studies, CPS
Sanae ElmouddenAssistant ProfessorRhetoric Commun & Theatre
Carmine P. GibaldiAssociate ProfessorAdministration & Economics, CPS
Ming-hui LiAssociate ProfessorHuman Services and Counseling
Cynthia R. PhillipsAssistant Professor & Associate DeanPlanning, Finance, Admin. & Business Prog., TCB
Rev. Jean-Pierre RuizAssociate ProfessorTheology and Religious Studies, SJC
Joseph TrainorAssistant ProfessorAccounting, TCB
Christie MathewPresidentIndia Subcontinent Student Council (ISSO)
Hervy Ong Student Coordinator OMA
Diamari Velez R.I.S.E. 
Jieyu ZhuPresidentChinese Students & Scholars Association (CSSA)
Kirk Daley Student CoordinatorOMA
Maria MarquezPresidentPilipino American Reaching Everyone (PARE)
Miguel Vasquez R.I.S.E. 
Nkiru IfedigboPresidentResidence Student Association (RSA)
Ricardine LaventureVPHaraya
Richardson Latortue R.I.S.E.