Tricia Griffith, President and Chief Executive Officer, The Progressive Corporation, Celebrated as Insurance Leader of the Year

$2.2 Million in Proceeds to Benefit Scholars in St. John’s University Greenberg School of Risk Management, Insurance and Actuarial Science

Tricia Griffith standing at podium making speech
April 11, 2022


New York, NY (April 11, 2022) – St. John’s University’s Maurice R. Greenberg School of Risk Management, Insurance and Actuarial Science (GSRM), part of the university’s Peter J. Tobin College of Business, honored Tricia Griffith, President and Chief Executive Officer, The Progressive Corporation, as the “2020 Insurance Leader of the Year” last night at the NY Marriott Marquis in Manhattan after multiple pandemic-related postponements.

The 26th Annual “Insurance Leader of the Year Dinner” raised over $2.2 million for scholarship funds for the university’s GSRM students and will also provide new resources and support. Included in the total dollars raised is more than $500,000 in support of the Tricia Griffith St. John’s University Endowed Scholarship for Women in Insurance. Announced as part of the evening’s proceedings, this scholarship fund was established by the GSRM Board of Overseers to both honor Ms. Griffith and support the advancement of women in the risk and insurance industry.

 The prestigious “Insurance Leader of the Year Award” presented annually since 1995, recognizes the contributions of outstanding individuals whose leadership in the worldwide insurance and financial services industry sets them apart from their peers. The 2020 award dinner, which would normally have been conducted in January 2021, was postponed to 2022 to best enable an in-person celebration.

“Tonight, for the 26th time, we assemble many from our business to do two things: recognize and honor one of our peers, and thank all present, and many others, for the financial support they have committed to the Maurice R. Greenberg School of Risk Management, Insurance and Actuarial Science,” said John W. Keogh, Chairman of the Board of Overseers, GSRM; President and Chief Operating Officer of Chubb Group, in his welcoming remarks. “These individuals and companies ensure that those who teach and study at the School can continue to make meaningful additions to the future leadership of the risk and insurance industry.”

Addressing more than 800 people who gathered to celebrate at the Marriot Marquis in Times Square, Mr. Keogh continued, “It is great to be back in a room filled with people again, it is even better to be gathered to honor Tricia Griffith, who is the first female to be honored as Insurance Leader of the Year. An accolade that speaks to her leadership and stewardship of Progressive and the company’s superior results.”

The award to Ms. Griffith was presented by an industry colleague, Chuck Davis, Chief Executive Officer of Stone Point Capital LLC. Mr. Davis served as an Honorary Co-Chairperson for the Dinner along with Lawton Fitt, Retired Partner, Goldman Sachs Group. Both Davis and Fitt are members of the Progressive Corporation Board of Directors with Fitt serving as Chairperson of the Board.

“Balance, passion, leadership, generosity, and humility are just some of the traits that describe and define Tricia Griffith. She is so deserving of this award, and as an industry, we are all so proud of her and her accomplishments at Progressive.”

Accepting the award and describing the core values of Progressive that help guide her decision-making, Ms. Griffith reflected: “It is necessary that we continue to evolve as an industry and a society and that means we have to reflect the people that we lead and the customers that we are so privileged to serve.”

The Award Selection Committee was chaired by Ellen Thrower, Ph.D., Professor Emerita and Retired Executive Director, St. John's University’s GSRM, and includes George Bernstein, Esq. of The Bernstein Law Firm, P.L.L.C. (Washington, D.C.); Robert P. Hartwig, Ph.D., Clinical Associate Professor of Finance and Director – Center for Risk and Uncertainty Management, Darla Moore School of Business, University of South Carolina; Kevin H. Kelley, Executive Advisor, Aquiline Capital Partners LLC; Joseph Mauriello, Retired Deputy Chairman and COO of KPMG LLP; Michael J. Morrissey, Special Advisor and Former CEO, International Insurance Society; Cynthia R. Shoss, Partner, Co-Chair of Global Board and former Co-Head of Global Insurance, Eversheds Sutherland (US) LLP; and Patrick J. Shouvlin, Retired Partner of PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP.

The Maurice R. Greenberg School of Risk Management, Insurance and Actuarial Science (GSRM) was founded in 1901 as the Insurance Society of New York and over the years evolved into The College of Insurance (TCI). In June of 2001, TCI merged with St. John’s University, becoming a school, part of The Peter J. Tobin College of Business. From its location at 101 Astor Place in Manhattan’s East Village, St. John’s awards undergraduate, M.B.A., and M.S. degrees in the insurance, risk management, and actuarial science disciplines. Through its Tobin Center for Executive Education, the University also provides education, training, and consulting services to industry, governments, and regulators worldwide.

GSRM is a global leader in risk and insurance education and training and draws candidates from many regions of the world. All the degree programs offered by The Peter J. Tobin College of Business, and thus by GSRM, are fully accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business.

For more information or to support the Greenberg School of Risk Management, please contact Maureen Furlong Weber by calling 212-277-5111 or at [email protected].