Kathryn T. Hutchinson, Ph.D., Honored with Pillars of the Profession Award

Kathryn Hutchinson
October 22, 2019

In recognition of her exemplary leadership in student affairs at St. John’s University, Kathryn T. Hutchinson, Ph.D., Vice President for the Division of Student Affairs, was recently selected as a member of the Pillars of the Profession Class of 2020 by the NASPA Foundation.

NASPA–Student Affairs Administrators in Higher Education is the leading association for the advancement, health, and sustainability of the student affairs profession. Each year, the NASPA Foundation recognizes a series of distinguished individuals who serve as leaders, teachers, and scholars in student affairs and higher education. The Pillars of the Profession Award is among the foundation’s highest honors.

“We are extremely proud of Dr. Hutchinson for being honored by the NASPA Foundation,” said Simon G. Møller, Ph.D., Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs.

“This honor is testament to her outstanding leadership skills, her commitment to our University—and, above all, her dedication to our students.”

Honorees are nominated and supported for designation as a Pillar by colleagues, students, or friends.


“It is truly an honor to receive the NASPA Foundation’s Pillars of the Profession Award,” said Dr. Hutchinson. “As student affairs professionals, our mission is to improve the lives and successes of our students. It means so much to be recognized by my peers and my colleagues at NASPA.”

According to the NASPA Foundation, the Pillar of the Profession Award honors members of the profession who

  • have provided significant service to NASPA through regional and/or national leadership roles within the Association.
  • have created a lasting impact on the institution(s)/organization(s) at which they have worked, leaving a legacy of extraordinary service recognized by a cross-section of institutional/organizational stakeholders.
  • have demonstrated sustained, lifetime, professional distinction in the field of student affairs and/or higher education.

Dr. Hutchinson and her fellow honorees will be formally recognized in March at the 2020 NASPA Annual Conference in Austin, TX.