Tricia Griffith, President & Chief Executive Officer, The Progressive Corporation to be Honored as "Insurance Leader of the Year"

Tricia Griffith, President & Chief Executive Officer, The Progressive Corporation, to be Honored by The Peter J. Tobin College Of Business at St. John’s University as The Greenberg School of Risk Management’s “2020 Insurance Leader Of The Year”

 Tricia Griffith
January 14, 2022

St. John’s University’s Maurice R. Greenberg School of Risk Management (GSRM), part of The Peter J. Tobin College of Business, will honor Tricia Griffith, President and Chief Executive Officer, The Progressive Corporation, as the “2020 Insurance Leader of the Year” at its 26th Annual Insurance Leader of the Year Award Dinner, a much awaited celebration delayed by the COVID-19 pandemic, now rescheduled for April 7, 2022 from its original January 19, 2022 date.  The event is now set to take place on Thursday, April 7, 2022, at the Marriott Marquis in New York City.  Serving as Honorary Chairpersons for the dinner will be Chuck Davis, Chief Executive Officer, Stone Point Capital LLC, and Lawton Fitt, Retired Partner, Goldman Sachs Group.  Both Davis and Fitt are members of the Progressive Corporation Board of Directors with Fitt serving as Chairperson of the Board.  Proceeds from the dinner will support the University’s GSRM students and programs. 

“The Insurance Leader of the Year accolade is traditionally awarded to an industry leader for distinguished achievement over a long career, or for special achievement in the year of recognition,” commented John W. Keogh, President and Chief Operating Officer, Chubb Group, Chairman of the GSRM Board of Overseers. “By any measure, Tricia has more than met these criteria. She started her career at Progressive as a claims representative and ‘rose through the ranks’ serving in several key leadership positions before taking over as CEO. Our students need look no further for a role model. And, as Fortune magazine’s 2018 ‘Businessperson of the Year’, she holds an accolade that no woman or anyone in our industry has ever before achieved. Without question — her stewardship of Progressive and the company’s superior results speak volumes of her impressive talents and leadership skills.” 

“The Insurance Leader of the Year has grown to be one of the most prestigious awards in the insurance industry. We are immensely proud to be the host of this award and to have such an acclaimed honoree as Tricia Griffith,” stated Brandon W. Sweitzer, Dean, Maurice R. Greenberg School of Risk Management, Insurance and Actuarial Science. 

The Award Selection Committee is chaired by Ellen Thrower, Ph.D., Professor Emerita and Retired Executive Director, St. John's University’s SRM, and includes George Bernstein, Esq. of The Bernstein Law Firm, P.L.L.C. (Washington, D.C.); Robert P. Hartwig, Ph.D., Clinical Associate Professor of Finance and Director – Center for Risk and Uncertainty Management, Darla Moore School of Business, University of South Carolina; Kevin H. Kelley, Executive Advisor, Aquiline Capital Partners LLC; Joseph Mauriello, Retired Deputy Chairman and COO of KPMG LLP; Michael J. Morrissey, Special Advisor and Former CEO, International Insurance Society; Cynthia R. Shoss, Partner, Co-Chair of Global Board and former Co-Head of Global Insurance, Eversheds Sutherland (US) LLP; and Patrick J. Shouvlin, Retired Partner of PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP.

The “Insurance Leader of the Year Award,” presented annually since 1995, recognizes the contributions of outstanding individuals whose leadership in the worldwide insurance and financial services industry sets them apart from their peers. In 2020, the School celebrated the 25th Anniversary of this prestigious award by presenting a “Lifetime Leadership Award” to Maurice R. Greenberg, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, C.V. Starr & Co. Inc., the Starr Insurance Companies and The Starr Foundation.

The Maurice R. Greenberg School of Risk Management, Insurance and Actuarial Science (GSRM) was founded in 1901 as the Insurance Society of New York and over the years evolved into The College of Insurance (TCI). In June of 2001, TCI merged with St. John’s University, becoming a school, part of The Peter J. Tobin College of Business. From its location at 101 Astor Place in Manhattan’s East Village, St. John’s awards undergraduate, M.B.A., and M.S. degrees in the insurance, risk management, and actuarial science disciplines. Through its Tobin Center for Executive Education, the University also provides education, training, and consulting services to industry, governments, and regulators worldwide.

GSRM is a global leader in risk and insurance education and training and draws candidates from many regions of the world. All the degree programs offered by The Peter J. Tobin College of Business, and thus by GSRM, are fully accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business

A photo of Ms. Griffith is provided. For more information, or to attend the dinner, please contact Maureen Furlong Weber of St. John’s University’s Greenberg School of Risk Management by calling 212-277-5111 or at [email protected].