St. John’s Continues Designation as Center of Actuarial Excellence

Center for Actuarial Excellence
March 19, 2020

St. John’s University’s The Maurice R. Greenberg School of Risk Management, Insurance and Actuarial Science (GSRM) has retained its status as one of the elite institutions in its field with the recent renewal of its designation as a Center of Actuarial Excellence (CAE) by The Society of Actuaries (SOA).

The School, which is part of The Peter J. Tobin College of Business, is one of only 33 institutions worldwide to receive CAE designation and one of only 11 that has maintained this designation from its inception in 2009.

“It is gratifying—but certainly no surprise—that the Maurice R. Greenberg School of Risk Management, Insurance and Actuarial Science once more has been granted designation as a Center of Actuarial Excellence."

"Our faculty is deep and broad in expertise and experience in this discipline. Students who enroll in this program are increasingly of high quality and tested ability. Our graduates enter into the field of actuarial science solidly prepared to make immediate contributions to the many fine companies and enterprises where they are employed,” stated Brandon W. Sweitzer, Dean of the Greenberg School of Risk Management.

CAE institutions have attained the highest level of recognition the SOA offers universities. They must maintain eight specific requirements related to degree, curriculum, graduate count, faculty composition, graduate quality, appropriate academic integration, connection to industry, and research/scholarship.

With this designation, the School can continue to compete for CAE Education and Research grants and take advantage of student‐related reimbursement programs. The School will retain CAE status through June 30, 2024.

According to the SOA, the CAE program was created to strengthen the position of the academic branch of the profession; enhance actuarial research and intellectual capital development; encourage universities to play an integral role in advancing actuarial knowledge; and build connections between the profession and top-tier actuarial programs and faculty.

The School of Risk Management evolved from the merger of The College of Insurance and St. John's University in 2001. In January of 2020, it was renamed The Maurice R. Greenberg School of Risk Management, Insurance and Actuarial Science, in honor of Maurice R. “Hank” Greenberg, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, C.V. Starr & Co. Inc., the Starr Insurance Companies, and The Starr Foundation.