More Information

Constantine “Dinos” Iordanou Announced As 2017 Insurance Leader Of The Year

Constantine “Dinos” Iordanou
Wednesday, September 13, 2017

St. John’s University’s School of Risk Management (SRM), part of The Peter J. Tobin College of Business, will honor Constantine “Dinos” Iordanou, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Arch Capital Group Ltd., as the “2017 Insurance Leader of the Year” at its 23rd Annual Insurance Leader of the Year Award Dinner.  The event will take place on Wednesday, January 17, 2018, at 6 p.m. at the Marriott Marquis in New York City.  Serving as Honorary Chairmen for the dinner will be Brian Duperreault, President and Chief Executive Officer, American International Group, Inc.; Marc Grandisson, President and Chief Operating Officer, Arch Capital Group Ltd.; Patrick G. Ryan, Founder, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Ryan Specialty Group, LLC; and Joseph V. Taranto, Chairman of the Board, Everest Re Group, Ltd.  Proceeds of the dinner will support the University’s SRM students and programs.

“The Insurance Leader of the Year accolade is traditionally awarded to an industry leader for distinguished achievement over a long career, or for special achievement in the year of recognition,” commented Kevin H. Kelley, Chief Executive Officer of Ironshore Inc., Chairman of the SRM Board of Overseers.  “Dinos Iordanou has been a colleague, friend and competitor for a long time. He is an exceptional leader who has built a great franchise at Arch. He is smart, tough -- and generous. It took diligence, patience and a lot of skill to build Arch into a major institution. Dinos has shown our industry that he is ‘The Real Deal'--and without question deserves the Insurance Leader honor this year.” 

“This honor is one of the most prestigious awards given by the Tobin College of Business and we are proud of this year's honoree,” said Norean R. Sharpe, Dean of the Tobin College. 

The Award Selection Committee is chaired by Ellen Thrower, Ph.D., Professor Emerita and Retired Executive Director, St. John's University’s SRM, and includes George Bernstein, Esq. of The Bernstein Law Firm, P.L.L.C. (Washington, D.C.); Robert P. Hartwig, Ph.D., Clinical Associate Professor of Finance and Co-Director – Center for Risk and Uncertainty Management, Darla Moore School of Business, University of South Carolina; Joseph Mauriello, Retired Deputy Chairman and COO of KPMG LLP; Michael J. Morrissey, President and CEO of the International Insurance Society; Patrick J. Shouvlin, Retired Partner of PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP; and Peter B. Walker, Director of McKinsey & Company (New York).

The “Insurance Leader of the Year Award,” presented annually since 1995, recognizes the contributions of outstanding individuals whose leadership in the worldwide insurance and financial services industry sets them apart from their peers. Last year’s recipient was Tony Markel, Vice Chairman of the Board, Markel Corporation.

The School of Risk Management was founded in 1901 as the Insurance Society of New York and over the years evolved into The College of Insurance (TCI).  In June 2001, TCI merged with St. John’s University, becoming a school inside The Peter J. Tobin College of Business. From its location at 101 Astor Place near Midtown South’s business district and the rapidly emerging technology corridor, St. John’s and the Tobin College of Business awards undergraduate, M.B.A., and M.S. degrees in the insurance, risk management and actuarial science disciplines. Through its Center for Executive Development, St. John’s also provides education, training and consulting services to industry, governments and regulators worldwide.

A photo of Dinos Iordanou is provided. For more information or to attend the dinner, please contact Maureen Furlong Weber of St. John’s University’s School of Risk Management by calling 212-277-5111 or at [email protected]