Emily Battaglia

I am a junior at St. John’s University in St. John’s College of Liberal Arts and Sciences majoring in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology with a minor in Psychology. After I graduate in the Spring of 2024, my plan is to attend graduate school and work toward earning my doctorate degree. 

My future goal is to work with children for early intervention therapy. I chose speech pathology to help others communicate. More specifically, I want to make a difference in a child’s life; my minor in Psychology will help me in this regard. 

When touring St. John’s University years ago as a high school student, I felt instantly at home. It wasn’t too far from my home in Brooklyn, NY, but yet it was far enough to allow me to grow, branch out, and build connections. St. John’s has so much to offer; it is the perfect place for me. I have developed fulfilling friendships and relationships, as well as new skills to better myself. 

I am a member of the Delta Phi Epsilon International Sorority, where I hold many different positions and served one year on the executive board. I have been a member of the National Student Speech Language and Hearing Association and am currently on the executive board. I am a Student Ambassador for the Engagement Center. I am also involved on campus in other clubs and organizations such as Project Sunshine; Student Government, Inc.; the Relay For Life committee; the Italian Cultural Society, and several honor societies. 

I am also a research assistant and coordinator for a research project being conducted by one of my professors focusing on translanguage in adolescents. I choose to participate in these activities to keep busy and to take advantage of all that St. John’s offers to develop experience and to network. 

I enjoy spending time with my friends, baking sweet treats, reading, and using Duolingo to learn new languages (I am currently learning French). I love to travel and cannot wait until I can explore the world in a few years. I recently started weight training at a gym. When at home, I enjoy spending time outside and with my cat.