Journal of Civil Rights and Economic Development

Established in 1984-1985, the Journal of Civil Rights and Economic Development (JCRED) was formerly known as the Journal of Legal Commentary.

Building its rich history of excellent scholarship on issues of social, racial, and economic justice, the journal officially became affiliated with the Ronald H. Brown Center for Civil Rights in 2010. Since then, JCRED has continued to produce innovative symposium issues and publish high-quality student notes. In addition, JCRED students contribute blogs to the widely respected Jurist legal news site and publish op-eds about cutting edge topics on its own JCRED website.

The subjects of recent symposium issues have included:

  • Race and gender issues in the 2008 presidential election
  • The economic downturn’s impact on New York City’s economy
  • The 50th anniversary of Title VII
  • The 50th anniversary of the Voting Rights Act of 1965 (in collaboration with the National Bar Association)

Please visit the St. John's Law Scholarship Repository to access:

  • Current Issue
  • Current Editorial Board
  • Current Members
  • Membership
  • JCRED Articles Archive

To contact the JCRED Editorial Board please e-mail: [email protected]

2019-20 Editor-in-Chief
Hunter Igoe

Faculty Advisors
Professor Elaine Chiu
Professor Rosa Castello

Hunter Igoe

Managing Editor
Ian Lukaszewicz

Associate Managing Editor
Amanda Small

Executive Articles Editors
Michael Gulotta
G. Ben Handy

Associate Articles Editors
Jared Fitzpatrick
Negin Haghnazari
Evan O'Connor
Nicole Valera

Research & Symposium Director 
Matthew Harnish

Notes & Comments Editors
Paul Bitetti
Trevor Hanrahan
Gabrielle Pollard
Patrick Lee