Alumni Advisory Board

The School of Education Alumni Advisory Board advises The School of Education (SOE) regarding its progress with external individuals and organizations. They work to create opportunities for professional development, networking, community service, and socialization for our alumni and current students.

Alumni Advisory Board Members

Anna R. Lukachik, Chair
Mark A. Andrews
David L. Bell, Ed.D., Dean, The School of Education
Fino M. Celano, Ed.D.
Karina Costantino
Paul Engelhardt
Francine F. Guastello, Ed.D.
Laura Kelly, Ph.D.
Reginald Landeau, Jr., Ed.D.
Madeline Larsen
William Lipson
Vincent Maita
Joyce Montalbano
Anna Maria Montuori
Carole Schafenberg
Joseph Sciame
Kevin Sullivan
Kathleen Walsh, Ed.D.

Lifetime member: Dr. Jim Sheerin


The mission of the Alumni Advisory Board is to advise The School of Education (SOE) regarding its progress with individuals and organizations external to SOE. As part of this mission, the Alumni Advisory Board develops, plans, and facilitates specific targeted activities to inform these communities and advance the SOE goals.

In carrying out this mission, the Board and its members will

  • Advocate for The School of Education in the public forum.
  • Advance the professional careers of current students and alumni through networking events, mentoring, and continuing education opportunities.
  • Collaborate with The School of Education through committee work and attendance at meetings and events.
  • Develop activities that enhance the visibility and awareness of the school and its instructional and research activities to assist in developing and promoting the SOE image, message, and brand.
  • Provide advice and counsel on the strategic direction of The School of Education and its undergraduate and graduate programs.
  • Actively recruit prospective members to the Alumni Advisory Board.
  • Contribute to the ongoing financial support of the school. Board members will commit per year specifically for The School of Education in one of the following ways (current graduate or undergraduate student members are exempt):
    • First Tier
      Alumni within one to four years of graduation who contribute $150 or above annually
    • Second Tier
      Alumni within five to seven years of graduation who contribute $300 or above annually
    • Third Tier
      Alumni within eight to nine years of graduation who contribute $600 or above annually
    • Fourth Tier
      The Loughlin Society members: $1,000 or more annually

Board members who have already exceeded this annual amount are exempt from this expectation.

Membership on the Alumni Advisory Board begins with a nomination by an existing Board member. The nomination form and the nominee’s résumé are submitted to the Chair and Director of Development for distribution to the Committee. The Dean and the Director of Development meet with the nominee. Based on a review of the nominee’s qualifications and the visit with the nominee, the Advisory Board decides not to extend an invitation for membership, or they make a recommendation to the Board for approval based on the above process. Board membership is held at 20 members and each member is asked to serve a three-year staggered term, renewable to a maximum of two terms.

The Chair presides at all meetings of the Board. The Chair has the power to appoint, with the approval of the other members of the Board by simple majority, any committees that may be necessary and valuable for the achievement of organization’s mission. The Chair is an ex-officio member of all such committees. The chair should serve for a three-year term.

All standing committees help the advisory board fulfill its purpose. The Alumni Advisory Board shall form and maintain the following standing committees:

  • Events Committee
  • Marketing and Communication Committee
  •  Development Committee
  • The Events Committee plans, organizes, and executes events to support alumni relations. 
  • The Communication Committee creates awareness of upcoming meetings, news, and events via all appropriate media and marketing platforms. It also oversees and monitors the Alumni Advisory Board webpage.
  • The Development Committee primarily creates strategic and fundraising programs to solicit funds and donors and cultivate major gifts through the following activities:
    • Researching and writing grants for programs and special events, with an additional focus on developing an annual fundraising event
    • Identifying potentially new board members (donors)
    • Soliciting gifts at annual fund level, major gifts, and planned giving from alumni and the public sector
    • Establishing a School of Education Advisory Board endowed fund ($50K)

The board meets four times a year and sets meeting dates for the upcoming year. Meetings are conducted either face-to-face or virtually.

These bylaws may be amended at any regular or special meeting of the Board (at which there is a quorum) by a majority vote of the members present at such meeting, provided that a 20-day notice of the proposed amendment shall have been given to each member by written communication at his or her last known address.

Lead Award Recipients

Michael J. Coppotelli ’07GEd
Associate Superintendent
Archdiocese of New York

Karina A. Costantino ’67Ed
Community Superintendent
District 20 Brooklyn, New York City Department of Education

Maria Dove ’10Ed.D.
School of Education and Human Services, Molloy College

Joshua Furnell ’18Ed.D.
English Teacher
Milton L. Olive Middle School, Wyandanch Public Schools

Ronald D. Gimondo ’00PD
John F. Kennedy Elementary School, Great Neck Public Schools