Exterior of St. Thomas More Church

Vincentian Convocation

The Vincentian Convocation celebrates and reflects upon our Vincentian mission—the living heritage that guides St. John’s University today as it has for the past 153 years. The ceremony will be held on Tuesday, September 26, 2023, at 3:30 p.m. in St. Thomas More Church on the Queens campus. During the ceremony, we will recognize the outstanding individuals among us who, each in their own sphere, exemplify St. Vincent’s legacy. This year, Kevin Ryan, will deliver the Vincentian Social Justice Lecture, “Listening to the Voices of Youth Facing Homelessness”.


Vincentian Mission Award
Basilio G. Monteiro, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Division of Mass Communication
Director of the Graduate Program International Communication
The Lesley H. and William L. Collins College of Professional Studies
St. John’s University

Caritas Medal
SOMOS – We Care
Accepted by Mario J. Paredes, M.D.
Chief Executive Officer, SOMOS – We Care

St. Elizabeth Ann Seton Medal
Maureen H. McCullough, J.D.
Senior Advisor, Catholic Relief Services

St. Vincent de Paul Medal
Kevin Ryan
Retired President and CEO, Covenant House

Frédéric Ozanam Award
A.M.T. Children of Hope Baby Safe Haven Foundation
Accepted by Captain Timothy Jaccard
Founder and President, A.M.T. Children of Hope Baby Safe Haven Foundation

International Medal
ARISE Foundation
Accepted by Sr. Deirdre Mullan, RSM, Ph.D.
Coordinator - The Mercy Girl Effect

Vincentian Mission Award
David N. Gachigo, M.P.A. '10G
Interim Vice Provost and Associate Dean, Division of Student Affairs
Staten Island Campus, St. John’s University

Caritas Medal
VNS Health
Accepted by Jovita M. Crasta, M.D.
Chief of Community Psychiatry, VNS Health

St. Elizabeth Ann Seton Medal
Geraldine Downey, Ph.D.
Director, Center for Justice
Robert Johnston niven Professor of Humane Letters in Psychology
Department of Psychology
Columbia University

St. Vincent de Paul Medal
Luis J. Nicho, Esq.
Pimentel & Nicho, PLLC

Frédéric Ozanam Award
Franciscan Friars of the Renewal
Accepted by Rev. Angelus montgomery, C.F.R.
St. Joseph Friary

Honorary Degree of Doctor of Science
Posthumously conferred upon Paul Farmer, M.D., Ph.D.
Cofounder and Chief Strategist, Partners in Health Accepted by Jeffrey Farmer
Strategy Advisor, Institute for Advanced Study of the Americas
University of Miami

Vincentian Mission Award
Kathryn T. Hutchinson, Ph.D. '92G
Vice President, Division of Student Affairs
St. John’s University

Caritas Medal
New Life Community Health Center
Accepted by David C. Jennings
Executive Director, New Life Community Health Center

St. Elizabeth Ann Seton Medal
Anna Rocchio
Ladies of Charity

St. Vincent de Paul Medal
Larry W. Boone, Ph.D.
Member of the Board of Directors
Developmental Disabilities Institute, Long Island, Ladies of Charity
Caregivers, and Professor Emeritus, St. John’s University

Frédéric Ozanam Award
Little Sisters of the Poor
Accepted by Sr. Sheila Ann Therese, lsp
Queen of Peace Residence

International Medal
Vincentian Family Coalition at the United Nations
Accepted by Sr. Teresa Kotturan, S.C.N.
Sisters of Charity Federation