Academic Calendar

View the current and upcoming Academic Calendar for the School of Law.

 

All Calendars

Date  Details
Sunday, May 31        Commencement
Monday, June 1  Summer session begins
Friday, June 5  Add/Drop deadline.  Last day to adjust schedule on the web. Last day to drop from classes before WD appears on transcript
Monday, June 15 and Thursday, June 18  Scholarly Research and Writing classes start
Thursday, July 16     Last day of class for main summer classes
Monday, July 20  Final examinations begin
Thursday, July 23  Final examinations end
Thursday, July 30         Last day for Scholarly Research and Writing classes. Summer session ends

Summer Semester 2020 Class Dates 

Day  Dates
Monday Classes  

June 1, 8, 15, 22, 29, July 6, 13, 20, 27

Tuesday Classes  

June 2, 9, 16, 23, 30, July 7, 14, 21, 28

Wednesday Classes  

June 3, 10, 17, 24, July 1, 8, 15, 22, 29

Thursday Classes  June 4, 11, 18, 25, July 2, 9, 16, 23, 30

English for American Law School for LL.M.

Monday, July 20 - Friday, August 14

5/11/2020

DateDetails

Monday, August 17

Convocation and Orientation for all entering 1L students
Fall semester begins for all 1L students
Last day to drop a pre-session course

Tuesday, August 18

Last day to add a pre-session course

Wednesday, August 19

Fall Pre-session begins for Upper-Level Students

Monday, August 24

Introduction classes begin for LL.M students in TLP and USLS

Friday, August 28

Fall Pre-session ends

Saturday, August 29

Fall semester begins

Friday, September 4

Add/Drop deadline. Last day to adjust schedule on the web.

Monday, September 7

Labor Day - No Classes Scheduled

Tuesday, September 15

Last day to drop from a class before WD appears on transcript

Monday, September 21

SWR applications for Fall 2020 semester are due

Friday, October 9

Legislative Monday

Friday, October 23

Legislative Tuesday

Tuesday, November 3

Election Day – No Classes Scheduled

Friday, November 6

Legislative Wednesday

Friday, November 13

Legislative Thursday

Tuesday, November 24

Last Day of Class

Wednesday, November 25-Saturday, November 28

Thanksgiving recess 

Monday, November 30

Study day

Tuesday, December 1 – Friday, December 18

Final Exam Period

Monday, December 21

Make-up Day for exams

Tuesday, December 22

Snow-day for final examinations; Fall semester ends.

Thursday, December 24 – Wednesday, January 6

Semester Break

Note: The following date may be utilized as makeup day in the event that classes must be cancelled due to snow/ inclement weather or a similar emergency: November 25.

Fall Semester 2020 Class Dates

DayDates

Monday Classes

August 31, September 14, 21, 28, October 5, Friday October 9, 12, 19, 26, November 2, 9, 16, 23

Tuesday Classes

September 1, 8, 15, 22, 29, October 6, 13, 20, Friday, October 23, 27, November 10, 17, 24

Wednesday Classes

September 2, 9, 16, 23, 30, October 7, 14, 21, 28, November 4, Friday, November 6, 11, 18

Thursday Classes

September 3, 10, 17, 24, October 1, 8, 15, 22, 29, November 5, 12, Friday, November 13, 19

Friday Classes

September 4, 11, 18, 25, October 2, 9, 16, 23, 30, November 6, 13, 20

Saturday Classes

August 29, September 5, 12, 19, 26, October 3, 10, 17, 24, 31, November 7, 14, 21

 

DateDetails

Monday, January 4

Last day to drop a pre-session course

Tuesday, January 5

Last day to add a pre-session course

Wednesday, January 6

Spring Pre-session begins for Upper-Level classes

LL.M. Orientation

Thursday, January 7

LL.M. Orientation

Monday, January 11

Lawyering class begins for 1L students

Introduction classes begin for LL.M students in TLP and USLS

Friday, January 15

Spring Pre-session, Lawyering and LLM Intro classes end

Saturday, January 16

Snow day for Pre-Session classes

Monday, January 18

Martin Luther King Jr. Day - No Classes Scheduled

Tuesday, January 19

Spring semester begins

Monday, January 25

Add/Drop deadline.  Last day to adjust schedule on the web

Monday, February 1

Last day to drop from a class before WD appears on transcript

Monday, February 8

SWR applications for Spring 2021 semester are due. 

Monday, February 15

President’s Day – No Classes Scheduled

Tuesday, February 16

Legislative Monday

Monday, March 1 - Friday, March 5

Spring Break

Wednesday, March 31

Legislative Monday

Thursday, April 1 - Monday April 5

Easter Break

Friday, April 30

Last Day of Class

Monday, May 3

Study Day

Tuesday, May 4 – Monday, May 17

Final Exam Period

Tuesday, May 18

Make-up day for exams; Spring semester ends.  Students should not make travel plans until after this date.

Sunday, June 6

Commencement

Note: The following dates may be utilized as makeup days in the event that classes must be cancelled due to snow/ inclement weather or a similar emergency: January 16 for Lawyering and pre-session classes and February 15, March 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, April 1, 3, and 5 for classes in the main semester.

Spring Semester 2021 Class Dates

DayDates

Monday Classes

January 25, February 1, 8, includes Tuesday February 16,22,March 8, 15, 22, 29, includes Wednesday March 31, April 12, 19, 26

Tuesday Classes

January 19, 26, February 2, 9, 23, March 9, 16, 23, 30, April 6, 13, 20, 27

Wednesday Classes

January 20, 27, February 3, 10, 17, 24, March 10, 17, 24, April 7, 14, 21, 28

Thursday Classes

January 21, 28, February 4, 11, 18, 25, March 11, 18, 25, April 8, 15, 22, 29

Friday Classes

January 22, 29, February 5, 12, 19, 26, March 12, 19, 26, April 9, 16, 23, 30

Saturday Classes

January 23, 30, February 6, 13, 20, 27, March 6, 13, 20, 27, April 10, 17, 24