Duberstein Moot Court Competition

The Annual Duberstein Bankruptcy Moot Court Competition is widely recognized as one of the nation’s preeminent moot court competitions. The competition promotes and recognizes the finest oral and written advocacy on significant issues in bankruptcy practice. Approximately 60 law school teams participate, making this the largest single site appellate moot court competition.

Jointly sponsored by St. John’s University School of Law and the American Bankruptcy Institute (ABI), the competition is named in memory of St. John’s alumnus, former ABI Director and former Chief Judge Conrad B. Duberstein. ABI is the largest multidisciplinary membership organization devoted to research and education on insolvency issues. St. John’s is a leader in bankruptcy education and offers the premier LL.M. in bankruptcy law.

The Duberstein Competition is well known for the quality of its judging. New York is a center of bankruptcy practice, and area bankruptcy practitioners judge the preliminary rounds and briefs. Advanced rounds are judged by New York-area bankruptcy judges and more than a dozen leading appellate and bankruptcy judges from around the country.

The competition culminates in a gala awards banquet at the Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel in Manhattan. The banquet draws more than 1,000 attendees, including many leading bankruptcy judges and practitioners.

23rd Annual Duberstein Moot Court Competition

St. John's School of Law and the American Bankruptcy Institute are pleased to sponsor the 23rd Annual Duberstein Bankruptcy Moot Court Competition.

Saturday, March 7 - Monday, March 9, 2015

Preliminary and Octo-final Rounds
Saturday, March 7, 2015
Sunday, March 8, 2015
St. John’s School of Law

Quarter, Semi and Final Rounds
Monday, March 9, 2015
The Conrad B. Duberstein U.S. Bankruptcy Courthouse
Brooklyn, New York

Gala Awards Dinner
Monday, March 9, 2015
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
811 Seventh Avenue, NY, NY 10019

Register now!

More Information
Competition: LLM@stjohns.edu
Gala Awards Dinner: duberstein@stjohns.edu
Competitor Registration:  stdenism@stjohns.edu