Information for Applicants for Certification
Effective December 31, 2013 all applicants for any NY State Certification and licensure [classroom teaching, administrative and supervisory, and pupil personnel service (e.g., school counselor, psychologist, social worker)] are required to complete six clock hours of coursework or training in accordance with Article 2 Sections 10-18 of the Education Law. This training is available only from a provider approved by the New York State Education Department. St. John’s University, under the direction of Dr. Gina Cicco, has been approved to be a provider and offers the 6 hour training workshop to current students and SJU alumni. In order to receive a letter of completion and certification, you are required to complete all 6 hours of training from St. John’s. No credit will be given if you complete any portion of the training through another provider. The fee for all others taking the course is $75 payable by money order to St. John’s University upon admission to the in-person workshop, which will be only after completing the online portion. St. John's University Students and Alumni will be asked to pay $10 by Money Order made out to St. John’s University due at the in-person workshop component of certification.
IMPORTANT: The coursework consists of 2 mandatory modules which MUST be completed in the following order:
Upon completion of the in-person workshop, the provider will electronically submit your certification to New York State. Please allow for up to two weeks from the next business day for it to appear on your online TEACH account.
You will also receive a letter of completion for your own records, as well as for current or prospective employers. Please note that this document is NOT submitted to New York State.
Please note that if you are NOT a St. John’s University Student/Alumni you will have to pay $75 by Money Order made out to St. John’s University due at the in-person workshop component of certification.
St. John's University Students and Alumni will be asked to pay $10 by Money Order made out to St. John’s University due at the in-person workshop component of certification.
If you have questions about registration please email [email protected] or call 718-990-5654
The following is a link to a video tutorial to assist with the registration process: