Travelers Insurance Research Presentations

Fall 2018 Research Presentations

Travelers Research Symposia and Berkley Scholar Presentations
The Peter J. Tobin College of Business, Manhattan Campus
101 Astor Place, Room 210

Friday, October 12
Benjamin Heidler, LMU Munich
Does the Affordable Care Act Lead to Selection Effects in U.S. Health Insurance?

Friday, October 26
Paul D. Thistle, University of Nevada Las Vegas
Lisa L. Posey, Pennsylvania State University
Genetic Testing and Genetic Discrimination: Public Policy When Insurance Becomes Too Expensive

Friday, November 9
Anita Mukherjee, University of Wisconsin-Madison
The Impact of Naloxone Laws on the Opioid Epidemic: A Data-Driven Analysis

Friday, Dec 7
Jianren Xu, University of North Texas
Does Enterprise Risk Management Spur Corporate Innovation?

Spring 2018 Research Presentations

Friday, February 2
Cassandra Cole, Florida State University
Stock-Market Participation and Risk Tolerance of U.S. Households Around the Financial Crisis

Friday, February 9
James Hilliard, Northern Arizona University
The Role of Contingent Commissions in Property-Liability Insurer Underwriting Performance

Friday, March 2
James M. Carson, University of Georgia
Sunk Costs and Screening: Two-Part Tariffs in Life Insurance

Friday, March 23
Lars Powell, University of Alabama
The Impact of a Border-Adjustment Tax on the U.S. Insurance Market

Friday, April 6
Christian Kubitza, Goethe University
Opaque market insurance, self-insurance and self-protection

Friday, April 13
Jan-Hendrik Weinert, Goethe University
Lifecycle Portfolio Choice with Tontines