More Information


Joseph Serafin


The Department of Chemistry at St. John's University offers both Bachelor of Science (B.S.) and Master of Science (M.S.) degrees in chemistry, as well as a combined BS/MS program which allows students to obtain both degrees in five years. 

There are three B.S. Chemistry degree options at the undergraduate level including an American Chemical Society Certification and a concentration in Biochemistry. We offer courses in traditional disciplines of chemistry as well as those in emerging areas such as bioorganic chemistry, organometallics, and separation techniques. 

The department has five teaching laboratories and houses a 400 MHz NMR. The primary Instrument Room houses various IR Spectrophotometers, a GC-MS, UV-Vis Spectrophotometers, a Fluorescence spectrometer, a Differential Scanning Calorimeter, and two HPLCs. In addition, faculty members have other various specialized equipment in their research laboratories.

The faculty members are dedicated to the education of their students both in the classroom and through their research programs. Research is an integral part of the education offered by the department and all chemistry majors are encouraged to participate. Many students work on projects during the summer in an intensive research program. All faculty members have active research programs, which are supported by various grants and fellowships, and by access to modern instrumentation.

Department of Chemistry
322 St. Albert Hall
8000 Utopia Parkway
Queens, New York 11439
Tel: 718-990-6291
Fax: 718-990-1876
[email protected]

Joseph Serafin, Ph.D.
Chair and Associate Professor
St. Albert Hall 
[email protected]

Joanne Bobb, Dept. Chair Secretary IV
322 St. Albert Hall
[email protected]

Ruth Lovelace, Dept. Chair Secretary IV
322 St. Albert Hall
718 990-6292
[email protected]