Maurice R. Greenberg, Chairman & Chief Executive Officer, C.V. Starr, Starr Insurance Companies & The Starr Foundation, to be honored with “Lifetime Leadership” Award

Maurice Green
December 17, 2019

St. John’s University’s School of Risk Management (SRM), part of The Peter J. Tobin College of Busines, will honor Maurice R. Greenberg, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, C.V. Starr, Starr Insurance Companies, and The Starr Foundation as recipient of a “Lifetime Leadership” Award as part of its 25th Anniversary Celebration of the Insurance Leader Annual Award Dinner.  The event will take place on Wednesday, January 15, 2020, at 6 p.m. at the Marriott Marquis in New York City.  Serving as Honorary Chairmen for the dinner will be Gregory C. Case, Chief Executive Officer, Aon, and Daniel S. Glaser, President and Chief Executive Officer, Marsh & McLennan Companies, Inc.  Proceeds from the dinner will support the University’s SRM students and programs.

“The Insurance Leader of the Year accolade has a 25-year history of awarding industry leaders for distinguished achievements,” commented Kevin H. Kelley, Vice Chairman, Global Risk Solutions of Liberty Mutual Group, Chairman of the SRM Board of Overseers.  “This year, in celebration of the Silver Anniversary of this esteemed award, the School has selected to honor an individual for ‘Lifetime Leadership’, someone who continues to be influential in the industry, and whose lifetime achievements have been exceptional and far-reaching.  In this category, Hank Greenberg is peerless.  He’s an icon, widely recognized as one of the most influential leaders in the world of insurance, financial services and beyond.  Hank has always been a great leader, a teacher and a model for best practices in business.  His committed support to the School of Risk Management and development of future industry leaders has solidly laid the foundation for this institution’s bright future and makes him the absolute choice for this award.”

 “Mr. Greenberg is widely recognized as a distinguished international business leader and philanthropist through his exemplary leadership of Starr and The Starr Foundation, one of the largest private foundations in the U.S.,” said Conrado “Bobby” Gempesaw, Ph.D., President of St. John’s University.  He added that “the Foundation’s support for education and health care institutions in general and St. John’s School of Risk Management in particular, has been exceptional.  Mr. Greenberg is truly deserving of this award.”

The Award Selection Committee is chaired by Ellen Thrower, Ph.D., Professor Emerita and Retired Executive Director, St. John's University’s SRM, and includes George Bernstein, Esq. of The Bernstein Law Firm, P.L.L.C. (Washington, D.C.); Robert P. Hartwig, Ph.D., Clinical Associate Professor of Finance and Director – Center for Risk and Uncertainty Management, Darla Moore School of Business, University of South Carolina; Joseph Mauriello, Retired Deputy Chairman and COO of KPMG LLP; Michael J. Morrissey, President and CEO of the International Insurance Society; Patrick J. Shouvlin, Retired Partner of PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP; and Peter B. Walker, Director of McKinsey & Company (New York).

The “Insurance Leader of the Year Award,” presented annually from 1995 to 2018, has recognized the contributions of outstanding individuals whose leadership in the worldwide insurance and financial services industry sets them apart from their peers.

 The School of Risk Management was founded in 1901 as the Insurance Society of New York and over the years evolved into The College of Insurance (TCI).  In June 2001, TCI merged with St. John’s University, becoming a school inside The Peter J. Tobin College of Business. From its location at 101 Astor Place in Manhattan’s East Village, St. John’s awards undergraduate, M.B.A., and M.S. degrees in the insurance, risk management and actuarial science disciplines. Through its Center for Executive Education, the University also provides education, training and consulting services to industry, governments and regulators worldwide.