More Information

St. John's School of Risk Management Names the 2013 Insurance Leader of the Year

Tuesday, February 11, 2014

St. John’s University’s School of Risk Management (SRM) honored Robert H. Benmosche, president and chief executive officer of American International Group, Inc. (AIG), as the 2013 Insurance Leader of the Year at its 19th annual award dinner.

The Insurance Leader of the Year Award Dinner took place on January 15 before more than 1,400 guests at New York City’s Marriott Marquis Hotel. The event raised more than $2 million for the fourth consecutive year. Proceeds support scholarships, programs, and academic resources for SRM students.

Presented annually since 1995, the Insurance Leader of the Year Award recognizes the contributions of outstanding leaders in the worldwide insurance and financial services industry. The School of Risk Management is a division of The Peter J. Tobin College of Business at St. John’s. A recognized leader in risk and insurance education and training, SRM draws students from across the country and around the world to its AACSB International (the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business)-accredited bachelor’s, master’s, and MBA degree programs.

"Bob has had an extraordinary career worthy of recognition in its own right,” said Brian Duperreault, CEO of Hamilton Insurance Group, Ltd., and chairman of the SRM Board of Overseers at St. John’s. “However, it is his work at AIG that earns him not only special recognition in the form of our Leader of the Year Award but also the gratitude of our industry and our country.”

The US Department of the Treasury and AIG’s Board of Directors appointed Benmosche to lead the company in 2009. Under his direction, AIG improved profits by 60 percent in a few short years and repaid in full the $182 billion the US government provided during the financial crisis. The company made a combined positive return of $23 billion.

“The miracle at AIG is the result of all of the people of this company pulling together to succeed,” Benmosche said during his acceptance speech. “I couldn’t have done this alone.”

Peter Hancock, CEO, AIG Property Casualty, served as honorary chairman of the dinner. “Bob has such a magnetic personality, and his vision has led AIG back to its proud heritage as a leader in the insurance industry,” he said upon presenting Benmosche with the award. “He makes it fun to work each and every day, even though it can be challenging.”

The Award Selection Committee was chaired by Ellen Thrower, Ph.D., professor emerita and retired executive director, SRM. The committee includes George Bernstein, Esq. of The Bernstein Law Firm, P.L.L.C. (Washington, DC); Robert P. Hartwig, Ph.D., president, Insurance Information Institute; Joseph Mauriello, retired deputy chairman and COO, KPMG LLP; Michael J. Morrissey, president and CEO, International Insurance Society; Patrick J. Shouvlin, retired partner, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP; and Peter B. Walker, director, McKinsey & Company (NY).