More Information

New York Law Journal Honors St. John’s Law Alumni and Faculty

Tuesday, November 5, 2013

At a November 4, 2013 gala celebrating its 125th anniversary, The New York Law Journal honored three St. John’s Law alumni with its Lifetime Achievement Award. The award recognizes lawyers who “have made a profound impact on the law and New York’s Legal Community." The St. John’s recipients are:

Hon. Carmen Beauchamp Ciparick ’67, ’03HON
Co-Chair, National Appellate Practice Group, Greenberg Traurig, LLP
Former Senior Associate Judge, New York State Court of Appeals

Hon. Mario M. Cuomo ’56, ’75HON
Of Counsel, Willkie Farr & Gallagher LLP
Former Governor, State of New York

Hon. Milton Mollen ’50, ’78HON
Counsel, Herrick, Feinstein LLP
Former Presiding Justice, Appellate Division, Second Department

“This is a well-deserved honor for these illustrious St. John’s Law alumni,” said Dean Michael A. Simons, who attended the award ceremony with Executive Director of Development and Alumni Relations Brian J. Woods and other members of the Law School community. “As longtime devoted public servants, and now as accomplished private practitioners, Judge Ciparick, Governor Cuomo, and Judge Mollen embody the qualities of integrity, fairness, and selfless service that all lawyers should aspire to.”

At the gala, the New York Law Journal also presented its Impact Award to Hon. Cecelia G. Morris, the Chief United States Bankruptcy Judge for the Southern District of New York and an adjunct professor in the Law School’s LL.M. in Bankruptcy program. The Impact Award recognizes individuals, groups, or projects that have had significant and lasting impact on the legal community in New York. Judge Morris was recognized for pioneering the use of e-filing in federal court.

The St. John’s awardees are featured in a special commemorative issue of the New York Law Journal, which is available online.