Vincentian Mission Institute

Founded in 2007, the Vincentian Mission Institute (VMI) is a collaborative, two-year program, initiated and facilitated by DePaul University, that brings together selected faculty and staff from St. John’s University, DePaul University, and Niagara University (approximately 10 participants from each institution) in order to educate and engage lay faculty and staff in the history and future of Vincentian and Catholic higher education, social teaching, and ministry.

VMI accomplishes this goal through collaborative online coursework, academic analyses of Vincentian and Catholic identities at each home institution, and regularly scheduled video conferencing among all three universities (about once a month). The video conferencing will allow the three groups of faculty and staff to discuss aspects of the Vincentian and Catholic identities that they are studying in their coursework. Because VMI will host a variety of guest lecturers, they will also be included in the video conferencing whenever possible.

Through collaborative coursework, enthusiastic web conferencing, thought provoking discussion, and thoughtful reflection, VMI strives to answer the question: What does it mean to be a Catholic, Vincentian university in the 21st century?


For inquiries pertaining to the Vincentian Mission Institute (VMI) or other programs coordinated by the Office of the University Mission please contact Lucy Pesce, Executive Director for Mission, at 718-990-3004 or [email protected].

VMI Cohorts

Ellen Boegel
Elaine Carey
Beth Evans
Marc Gillespie
Patrick Griffin, C.M.
James Keane
Victoria Migliore
Darren Morton
Anthony Pacheco
Sue Scacalossi
Joan Vivian

Coming Soon.