More Information >>

Internships

St. John’s College of Liberal Arts and Sciences offers students the opportunity to gain professional experience in their chosen field of study through internships.

Students who participate in internships gain:

  • Academic credit toward their majors
  • A head start in their chosen careers
  • An introduction to the professional world
  • Practice in skills like written and oral communication, leadership, organization, teamwork, flexibility, and critical thinking
  • Networking opportunities
  • Resume-building experience

Internship Types
Students may participate in internships for academic credit, or paid internships for which no credit is awarded. Career Services offers more information about the types of internships available to students.

Minimum Requirements for Internships
Students eligible for internships will have completed 60 credits overall. They should have completed at least 12 credits within their majors, with a major GPA of 2.75 or higher.

Internships Around the World
St. John's University offers some international internships to students in their junior year who meet the language prerequisites for each program. Opportunities are available in Paris, Seville, and Rome, and include intern positions at government offices, local universities, private companies, and nongovernmental organizations (NGOs).

Academic Department Contacts

Anthropology/Sociology
Barrett P. Brenton
Professor
St. John Hall, Room 44
718-990-5662
brentonb@stjohns.edu
 Art and Design
Aaris Sherin
Associate Professor
St. John Hall, Room B11
718-990-5414
sherina@stjohns.edu
Asian Studies
Hung-Yi Erik Shen
Assistant Director, Institute of Asian Studies
Lourdes Hall, Room 102
718-990-2181
shenh@stjohns.edu
 Biology 
Irvin Hirshfield
Associate Professor
St. Albert Hall, Room 238
718-990-5360
hirshfii@stjohns.edu
Communication Sciences and Disorders
Patrick R. Walden
Associate Professor
St. John Hall, Room 344
718-990-5586
waldenp@stjohns.edu
 English - Queens Campus
Stephen Sicari
Professor and Chair, English
St. John Hall, Room B-15
718-990-6390
sicaris@stjohns.edu
English - Staten Island Campus
Robert Fanuzzi
Associate Professor
Rosati Hall, Room 203
718-390-4416
fanuzzir@stjohns.edu
 Government and Politics
William Gangi
Professor
St. John Hall, Room 234
718-990-6792
gangiw@stjohns.edu
History
Elaine Carey
Associate Professor and Chair CLACS
St. John Hall, Room 244
718-990-6228
careye@stjohns.edu

Kristin Szylvian
Associate Professor
szylviak@stjohns.edu
 Languages and Literatures 
Zoe Petropoulou - French
Associate Professor and Chair
St. John Hall, Room 434
718-990-5205
petropoz@stjohns.edu

Annalisa Saccà - Italian Professor
718-990-5204
saccaa@stjohns.edu

Carmen F. Klohe – Spanish Associate Professor
718-990-6453
klohec@stjohns.edu

Nicolas J. Toscano – Spanish Professor
718-990-5250
toscanon@stjohns.edu

Philosophy
Paul Gaffney
Chair and Associate Professor
St. John Hall, Room B-26
718-990-6379
gaffneyp@stjohns.edu

 Rhetoric, Communication, and Theatre
Jeremiah Hickey
Associate Professor and Chair
St. John Hall, Room 344
718-990-5629
hickeyj@stjohns.edu


Internships Contact

Christine Yang
Assistant to the Dean
St. John's College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
St. John Hall, Room 145
718-990-1314
yangc@stjohns.edu