More Information

School of Risk Management, Insurance and Actuarial Science

The School of Risk Management has a rich history and tradition. It was formed initially as the Insurance Society of New York in 1901, as the School of Insurance in 1947 and the College of Insurance (TCI) in 1962. The School of Risk Management evolved from the merger of the College of Insurance and St. John's University in 2001. The academic programs of the School of Risk Management are located at 101 Astor Place.

The School of Risk Management is a global leader in risk and insurance education and training and draws candidates from all regions of the world. All of the degree programs offered by the Tobin College of Business – thus by the School of Risk Management – are fully accredited by the AACSB International (the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business).

Related Areas

Academic and administrative leaders for the School of Risk Management include Dean Brandon Sweitzer and Faculty Chairperson Mark Browne.


Margarita Gonzales David, Undergraduate Admissions​

Office of Graduate Admissions, Tobin College of Business

Laura L. Vega-Konefal

Alma Rivera (Advisement Coordinator)

Jody Queen-Hubert (Apprenticeship, Job Placement)

Mark J. Browne (Chairperson)