More Information

Distinguished Speakers Address Graduates at St. John’s Commencement Exercises

Friday, May 12, 2017

As the University concludes its 147th academic year, leaders representing the Church, business, law, and higher education addressed graduating students this spring as featured speakers at the St. John’s undergraduate and graduate Commencement Exercises.

Undergraduate Commencement Exercises

Sunday, May 21, Queens Campus
His Eminence Peter Kodwo Appiah Cardinal Turkson
Prefect of the Dicastery for Promoting Integral Human Development

Saturday, May 20, Staten Island Campus
Lois T. Nicotra ’77NDC, ’83GEd
Chair/Owner, The Nicotra Group LLC

Commencement Exercises
St. John’s School of Law

Sunday, June 4, Queens Campus
Hon. Janet DiFiore ’81L
Chief Judge, State of New York; Chief Judge, New York Court of Appeals

Commencement Exercises
Rome Campus

Sunday, June 11
Nicola Pedde, Ph.D. ’00G
Director, Institute for Global Studies
Rome, Italy

Graduate Commencement Exercises

Queens Campus

  • College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences
    Monday, May 15
    Michael Dorato ’71P, ’73GP, ’76Ph.D., Executive Vice President, Smithers Avanza Development Services
  • The School of Education
    Tuesday, May 16
    Sonia Nieto ’65Ed, Professor Emerita, Department of Teacher Education and Curriculum Studies, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
  • The Peter J. Tobin College of Business
    Wednesday, May 17
    William J. Janetschek ’84CBA, Member and Chief Financial Officer, Kohlberg Kravis Roberts & Co. L.P.; member of the Board of Trustees, St. John’s University
  • St. John’s College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
    Thursday, May 18
    Patricia Castel Skarulis ’66C, ’68G, Senior Vice President and Chief Information Officer, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center; member of the Board of Trustees, St. John’s University
  • College of Professional Studies
    Friday, May 19
    Frank Bisignano, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, First Data Corporation